GJEPC Artisan Awards Recognise Country’s Jewellery Design Talent

GJEPC 2019 Artisan Awards Crunched
Mitali Kikani, who won the Brooches or Pins category, picks up her award

The Gem & Jewellery Export Promotion Council (GJEPC) held the presentation ceremony of its Artisan Jewellery Design Awards 2019 jewellery design competition on Wednesday in Mumbai. The event also featured the official release of the GJEPC-sponsored AATMAN – Inspirations 2020 jewellery trend forecasting book put together by luxury industry analysts from The Futurist’s group led by Paola De Luca.

Sponsored by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and co-sponsored by the Diamond Producers Association (DPA), the design competition is aimed at recognising and rewarding India’s best jewellery design talent.

Speaking on the occasion, GJEPC Chairman Pramod Agarwal reiterated the need for the Indian jewellery industry to move further along the value chain beyond mere offshore production and develop into a design and product development power in its own right.

This year’s competition was centred around the theme of the Enchanted Cosmos and featured over 550 finished-piece entries and 23 design sketches in three categories — Rings or Pendants; Brooches or Pins and Earrings or Bracelets. Judging parameters included design aesthetics, wearability, innovation, relevance to theme and ease of manufacturing.

Mehul Gupta, whose piece was manufactured by Jewel Goldi, won the Rings or Pendants category, while Mitali Kikani of H. Ajoomal Fine Jewellery won the Brooches or Pins category and Soukata Basu Malhotra, whose piece was manufactured by noted Indian jewellery designer and entrepreneur Anand Shah, won the Earrings or Bracelets segment.

In the Rings & Pendants category, Koushik Mondal of Tanvirkumar & Co. was declared the first runner up while Deepika Pathya of Titan Company Ltd. was the second runner up. Finalsists included independent designer Biswarup Chakraborty, whose piece was fabricated by Jewel Goldi, Isha Deb of Bluestone Jewellery, Kamal Parui of Emerald Jewel India Ltd., Laxmikanth Mestry from the IIGJ Tardeo, Mumbai, whose piece was manufactured by Vasupati Jewellers and Twinkle Dhanesha of SDI-Bengaluru, whose piece was manufactured by KP Sanghvi.

In the Brooches & Pins category, Aashna Chaudhary of the Titan Company Ltd. was first runner up while Jayshree Tupe of A’Star Jewellery was the second runner up. Finalists included Sanskruti Serrao of PNG Jewellers Ltd., V. Saravanan of the Titan Company Ltd. and Rakesh Bhowmik of Tanvirkumar & Co.

GJEPC Trendbook Aatman Launch 2019
The GJEPC also launched its trend forecasting book Aatman – Inspirations 2020

In the Earrings & Bracelets category, Soumyajit Maity of Priority Jewels Ltd. was the first runner up and Yash Pandey of IIGJ Delhi, whose piece was manufactured by Anand Shah, was the second runner up. Finalists in this category were Aashna Chaudhary, Hariharan T S and Aaheli Datta, all from the Titan Company Ltd., Urvi Bansal, of B.K Saraf Jewellers, whose piece was manufactured by Gold Artism, Harsona J Choksi of Sangam Jewels Gold and Bhavana Jain of Kama Schachter.

The GJEPC also introduced an award for Best Product Inventory at Signature IIJS 2019. There were a total of 8 subcategories for this award and the winners were:

Daily Wear Diamond Jewellery — Shree Fine Jewels Pvt. Ltd. (Winner), Zunda (1st runner up) & Sphere (2nd runner up).
Couture Diamond Jewellery — Tibarumal (Winner), Manak Diamonds (1st runner up), Splurge (2nd runner up).
Gold Jewellery — Sawansukha Jewellers (Winner), Gold Artism (1st runner up).
Silver Jewellery — R. K. Silver & Gold (Winner).
Platinum — Pure Platinum (Winner).
Coloured Gemstone Jewellery — Tara Fine Jewels (Winner), Sanskriti Jewels (1st runner up), Birdhichand Ghanshyamdas (2nd runner up).
Kundan Meena Jewellery — VM Ornaments (Winner), Vasupati Jewellers India Pvt. Ltd. (1st runner up).
Pearl Jewellery — Manoj Ornaments (Winner).

NewsSource: gemkonnect

Disclaimer: This information has been collected through secondary research and TJM Media Pvt Ltd. is not responsible for any errors in the same.